Friday, 1 May 2015

LIZ NUGENT - UNRAVELLING OLIVER (2014)


Synopsis/blurb…..

'I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.'

Liz Nugent's gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.

In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

Boom! Probably my final read of the month and if it is, it’s definitely a case of saving the best ‘til last.

Perfect length, perfect pitch, with an intriguing main character – Oliver by turn, sympathetic, annoying, pitiful, manipulative, cold, controlling and loathsome.

A career and a marriage and a life crafted from a deception, before the walls came tumbling down.

Fantastic sense of time and place as the narrative switches seemingly effortlessly between characters and events both from the present and the past, each of them providing a narrative of events that ultimately sees Alice languishing in a hospital bed and Oliver’s true self unmasked.

I read 160 pages the evening I started the book and regretted the necessity for sleep prior to work the following day. The last 70 pages passed in a blur.

Incredibly satisfying. Highly recommended. Sign me up for her next offering.

Slight tinge of regret that Barney’s realisation of his own worth arrived 30 plus years too late. Three in that marriage would never have been one too many.

5 from 5 – and a shoe-in for April’s Pick of the Month (with apologies to Lawrence Block!)

Liz Nugent has her website here.

Catch up with her on Twitter - @lizzieenugent

It's hard to believe Unravelling Oliver is her debut.

Many thanks to Catherine at the publishers, Penguin for my copy of this.

   




11 comments:

  1. Col, you read 160 pages one evening! I'm sure there are more than 24 hours in your day. I think we can expect an interview here.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I couldn't really put it down. Re an interview - watch this space (hopefully)!

      Delete
  2. I'll be honest, Col; stories of domestic abuse really have to be compelling for me to be interested in them. Certainly for me to feel anything for the abuser. But every once in a while, a good 'un comes along.. I'm glad you found this a winner.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I probably wouldn't class this one as domestic abuse really. The violence exhibited towards his wife is unforgiveable, but is as a consequence of Oliver's exposure rather than a specific pattern of behaviour.

      Delete
  3. Sounds interesting, but not sure. It isn't available here anyway, so I have plenty of time.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Trayc, I think you would enjoy it. It's very cleverly constructed and revealed.

      Delete
  4. Didn't I read this review somewhere else this morning . . .?

    I was just about to go see if the book's available here; thanks to Tracy for having done that piece of research for me! I might check out its availability on Wordery, though . . .

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Deja-vous mate. I spout my nonsense anywhere that will have me!

      Delete
  5. You have intrigued me enough that this is going on the list straightaway...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Moira, I think our reading paths should definitely crossover on this book.

      Delete